The cycling Grand Tours are three prestigious multi-stage bicycle races held annually, each lasting for several weeks. These races are considered the most important events in professional road cycling and attract top cyclists from around the world. The three Grand Tours are:

  1. Tour de France: The Tour de France is the most famous and prestigious of the Grand Tours. Held annually in July, the race typically covers around 3,500 kilometers (2,200 miles) over 21 stages, with both flat and mountainous terrain. The race usually begins in France but occasionally visits neighboring countries as well. It is organized by the Amaury Sport Organisation (ASO).
  2. Giro d’Italia: The Giro d’Italia, also known as the Tour of Italy, is held annually in May and June. The race covers approximately 3,500 kilometers (2,200 miles) over three weeks, with stages often featuring challenging climbs through the Italian Alps and Dolomites. The Giro is one of the oldest and most prestigious cycling races in the world, organized by RCS Sport.
  3. Vuelta a España: The Vuelta a España, or Tour of Spain, is held annually in August and September. It typically covers around 3,000 to 3,500 kilometers (1,800 to 2,200 miles) over three weeks, with a mix of flat, mountainous, and time trial stages. The Vuelta is known for its demanding climbs, particularly in the Pyrenees and Sierra Nevada mountain ranges. It is organized by Unipublic.

These Grand Tours showcase some of the most challenging and scenic routes in professional cycling and attract top riders from around the world, competing for the coveted overall victory and individual stage wins. Each race has its own unique history, traditions, and challenges, contributing to the allure and excitement of the Grand Tour calendar.